Code Promulgation

Advocacy During the Triennial Code Adoption Process
In California, new building codes are issued on a three-year cycle. When new editions of the model codes become available, the California Building Standards Commission (CBSC), along with the state adopting and proposing agencies, conducts a Triennial Code Adoption Cycle to adopt a new edition of Title 24 (California’s Building Code) incorporating the new editions of selected model codes and new amendments and adoptions by the state agencies.

The Intervening Code Adoption Cycle occurs between triennial cycles, and does not involve adoption of model codes. This cycle results in supplements to Title 24, which are amendments to the current edition that may be necessary due to new laws, executive orders, technological advances or other reasons.

In California, seven agencies are responsible for code promulgation during each triennial code adoption process.

  • Department of Public Health
  • The Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development
  • The Department of Housing and Community Development
  • The Department of General Services
  • State Energy Resources Conservation and Development Commission (California Energy Commission)
  • The State Fire Marshal
Skip to content